Quick Chicken with White Wine Sauce

Leave a comment

November 11, 2014 by NS

I did this Monday but forgot to post it. I’ve been pretty busy this week, so I wanted something quick and easy where I could cook everything on the stove top simultaneously. There are a lot of ingredients in this dish, but the idea is for it to be flexible so that you can use whatever you have handy, rather than needing to do a bunch of preparation.

I made chicken in white wine mushroom sauce, and on the side I made some sauteed spinach. I won’t go into detail on the spinach, I just sauteed it in olive oil with a bunch of garlic. The sauce I made was a bit sour, so I think you can make any vegetable on the side as long as it’s not sour.

Chicken
1/2 lb boneless chicken thighs
3 tbsp olive oil
generous salt and pepper

I cooked the chicken in olive oil with salt and pepper on medium heat for about 8 minutes or so, until there was no trace of pinkness or translucence on either side. Then I set the chicken aside and cooked the sauce in the same pan (without washing the pan).

Sauce
1/4 cup chopped white onion (half of a smallish onion)
1-2 cloves of garlic
3 tbsp olive oil
1/2 lb portobello mushrooms, cut in wedges
1 cup white wine + more if necessary
1 tbsp butter
2 tbsp flour
fresh rosemary
salt and ground black pepper to taste

I first added more olive oil to the chicken pan and sauteed the garlic and onion for a few minutes, until the onion started to get translucent. Then I added the mushrooms and cooked for a couple more minutes. Then added about 1 cup of wine. After adding the wine, scrape around the pan to get all the bits of chicken and vegetable off and stir it all together. Cook for a few minutes, until the sauce reduces a bit (some water will come out of the mushrooms too). Add the flour (I think it’s good to mix the flour with a little bit of water first to make a thick fluid, because if you add the flour directly, you might get clumps) and the butter and stir until the butter is melted and the sauce starts to thicken. Add 2 sprigs of rosemary and some salt and pepper and return the chicken to the pan. Cook for about 3-4 more minutes. Add more wine if the sauce gets too thick.

This resulted in a somewhat sour sauce, because I only added wine and no other liquid. It’s popular to put stock in (probably chicken stock for this recipe) and that would probably be good. I had wanted to add nutmeg, but I didn’t have any. I think that would be good. We put in a lot of pepper to offset the sourness, but I think if there was nutmeg, we could have gone with less pepper. You could definitely use other spices too (or instead).

I don’t think this sauce is very sensitive to timing, and I didn’t keep track of time closely. In all, I think it took about 20 or 25 minutes. I cooked the spinach at the same time in another pan, so that was easy. Just make sure you cook the chicken thoroughly.

If you want a richer sauce, you can replace some (or all!) of the olive oil with butter.

I removed the cooked rosemary sprigs from the sauce after it was finished, but added a fresh sprig as garnish when serving the chicken.

I didn’t make any starch to go with this, but I think it would have gone well with pasta.

Sorry, no pictures of this one. We were pretty hungry by the time dinner was ready, and I didn’t work that hard on presentation, so it didn’t look that nice and we didn’t want to wait.

Stir the pot!

Recent Posts

Enter your email address for notification of new posts.

Join 33 other followers

Archives

Categories

